The Hillsborough River insulates Rogers Park from the hustle and bustle of Tampa. Only 20 minutes from downtown, there are no city streets or homes running through this golf course, which was originally built in 1952 and renovated in the summer of 2000.Rogers Park is the home of the Tampa City Amateur Medal Championship, features a driving range and a three-hole short course. Course record 64.Scorecard:TEE COURSE RATING SLOPE RATING Black 72.2 121 Blue 69.9 115 White 66.8M/71.8W 108M/128W Gold 64.5M/69.0W 102M/122W The History of Rogers Park Golf Course: During the days of segregation Rogers Park was the only picnic area for the African American community in Tampa. The park took the name of its contributor, G.D. Rogers. After church on Sundays many families came to enjoy the swings, slides, baseball diamond, and picnic area. Mayor Curtis Hixon gave permission to a group of caddies from Palma Ceia (seea) CC to build a nine hole golf course. The first Head Golf Professional, Willie Black directed his group of volunteers. All of the tree removal and shaping was done by hand. Upon its completion in 1952 the Rogers Park Golf Club was born. In 1976 the City of Tampa gave management rights to the newly formed Tampa Sports Authority. A $400,000 renovation project began with Ron Garl as the designer. An irrigation system was installed as well as expanding to another city owned property across the street. In 2000 the Tampa Sports Authority renovated again. This time a 4 million dollar renovation was needed. The irrigation system was replaced; the greens were rebuilt to modified USGA specifications. A lot of other landscaping and reshaping of holes was added to enhance the character of Rogers Park GC. In 2001 a new maintenance compound was completed, and in 2002 a new clubhouse was built.