Opened in 1903 the club is well known for its warm and welcoming atmosphere. The course was initially designed by Sandy Herd and was later modified by James Braid in 1906, increasing it from 9 to 18 holes. The large gothic clubhouse which was built in 1813, has great views of the course and in the summer drinks and meals can be enjoyed on the spacious patio area. Facilities include a practice green and Pro shop.
The golf course is laid out over the beautiful Yorkshire countryside. This par 70, 6327 yards parkland course is relatively flat so the majority of players can walk. There are tree-lined fairways making accuracy off the tee essential. The well-guarded bunkers means approaches are never easy, but the course is suited to all levels of player.